54. [Interview] Gabriel Bergmoser talks about The Hunted, adapting his book into a major movie, and how to write gripping stories

Gabriel Bergmoser and I sat down to discuss The Hunted (his latest thriller novel) in depth. This is the third time I’ve interviewed him, and somehow he keeps getting better. The Hunted is my favourite book of his and it was enthralling to dive into the mind of its creator. This episode is available in podcast and video form. Enjoy!   

Podcast:

55. [Book Review] Shadows of Self – Mistborn 5 – by Brandon Sanderson The Novel Analyst Podcast: Creative Writing Advice & Author Interviews

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Video (Split into 2 Parts):

Show Notes:

Buy The Hunted here:  https://www.gabrielbergmoser.com/novels.html  

@gobergmoser 

www.gabrielbergmoser.com  

—————————— 

Let me know what you thought on twitter: 

@jedherne  

—————————— 

And if you’d like to try my own books, check out Fires of the Dead – a fast-paced fantasy novella, perfect for fans of The Hunted: https://jedherne.com/firesofthedead/

53. [Interview] Rob J. Hayes – Writing a Fantasy Trilogy, Overcoming Doubts, and The War Eternal

I chat with Rob for the second time to discuss his latest grimdark fantasy trilogy, The War Eternal. The trilogy follows Eska, a young magician struggling to reconcile her urges for revenge with her longing for human connection. The books include:

  1. Along the Razor’s Edge
  2. The Lessons Never Learned
  3. From Cold Ashes Risen

We also talk about overcoming doubts, Rob’s techniques for building captivating fantasy worlds, and which of his characters he’d share isolation with. Enjoy!

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.

Show Notes:

My BookNest review of The Lessons Never Learned: https://bit.ly/jedreviews

Rob’s twitter: @RoboftheHayes

Rob’s facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheHeresyWithin

Rob’s blog: http://www.robjhayes.co.uk/

***

My twitter: @JedHerne

49. [Interview] Kate Heartfield – Interactive Fiction and The Magician's Workshop

What does it take to write stories where readers’ decisions affect the outcome? Kate Heartfield is an author of several historical fantasy and interactive fiction stories, including The Road to Canterbury, and The Magician’s Workshop, published by Choice of Games. Her fiction has won or been shortlisted for the Nebula, Locus, Aurora and Crawford awards.

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.

Twitter: @kateheartfield

Website: heartfieldfiction.com

Show Notes:

The Magician’s Workshop – her interactive fiction story set in Renaissance Florence.

Jed’s twitter: @jedherne

Jed’s email: jed.herne1(at)gmail.com

43. [Interview] Justin Call – Author of Master of Sorrows – board games, fantasy, and the creative life

Justin Call graduated from Harvard University in 2012 with a Master’s in Literature and Creative Writing. He has studied fantasy literature for almost two decades and is the author of Master of Sorrows, Book 1 of The Silent Gods tetralogy. Justin is also the CEO of Broomstick Monkey Games and co-designer of the games Imperial Harvest, Royal Strawberries, Royal Scum, and 8 Kingdoms. He currently lives in Park City, Utah with his wife, his two sons, his Great Dane (Pippa) and his St. Bernard-Mastiff (Herbie).

In this interview, we dive deep into his creative process, explore how designing board games has helped his world building, and discuss how he’s writing one of the most challenging and subversive fantasy series of this decade.

Enjoy!

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.



Show Notes:

https://justintcall.com/

@Justin_T_Call (twitter)

Justin’s top writing-advice books/resources:


– Save the Cat by Blake Snyder

– The Power of Myth by Joseph Campbell

– The Hero with a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell

– The Writing Excuses podcast

– 101 Habits of Highly Effective Writers

– 101 Habits of Highly Effective Screenwriters

Justin’s top books/authors:

– ‘Crowfall’ by Ed McDonald

– Book of the Ancestor Series by Mark Lawrence

– Anything by Brandon Sanderson (I second this suggestion). 

My notes:

Half-Baked Stories podcast

@jedherne (Twitter, Instagram)

jedherne.com

33 – A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller Jr. – Exploring Theme through Structure

My debut fantasy novella, Fires of the Dead, is available on amazon for pre-order! Get it here: https://amzn.to/31KMCUR

Or use this link to read a free sample chapter: https://jedherne.com/dead/

A Canticle for Leibowitz is a 1959 post-apocalyptic sci-fi novel by Walter M. Miller Jr. It’s often described as one of the first post-apocalyptic stories. Without it, there would be no Book of Eli, The Stand, or most other post-apocalyptic tales.

Don’t just take my word for it. It won the 1961 Hugo Award – one of science fiction’s highest honours. Legendary scientist Carl Sagan described it as: “so tautly constructed, so rich in the accommodating details of an unfamiliar society that [it] sweep me along before I have even a chance to be critical”.

It’s a remarkable novel. I don’t have the space in one episode to fully analyse it, so today I’m focusing on just one thing: how it uses an unconventional structure to explore the theme and emotionally gut-punch readers. Enjoy!

Listen on Apple Podcasts

Listen on Spotify

Listen on Stitcher

Or click here to listen online

Show Notes:

Fires of the Dead, by Jed Herne – https://jedherne.com/dead/

Watch my YouTube channel for writing advice every weekday:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVjB-qFoNxNbQq0S3boWxIA?view_as=subscriber  

Join my exclusive free Reader Club email newsletter to stay up to date with my writing projects:  https://jedherne.com/club/

Twitter: @jedherne

Email: jed.herne1@gmail.com

32 – Gabriel Bergmoser Interview – lessons learnt from book deals, movie deals, and becoming a full-time writer

Gabriel Bergmoser is a Melbourne based author and playwright.  He’s written the Boone Shepard trilogy (I analysed book 3 in this episode of the podcast) along with multiple plays. His latest novel is The Hunted (aka Sunburnt Country in the UK), which comes out in mid-2020 from HarperCollins. 

It was a pleasure to have Gabe back on the podcast to discuss his recent book & movie deals, along with other aspects of his life as a writer. Have a listen if you’re interested in:


– Gabe’s advice for being resilient and overcoming rejection;

– What it’s like to get a huge book deal with a major publisher (& an equally huge movie deal!);

– The biggest writing lesson he learnt from finishing the Boone Shepard trilogy;

And loads more!

Listen on Apple Podcasts

Listen on Spotify

Listen on Stitcher

Or click here to listen online

Show Notes:

16 – Boone Shepard – The Silhouette and the Sacrifice by Gabriel Bergmoser – Writing Awesome Endings

Gabe’s review of Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad

News about The Hunted and the film deal

Gabe’s twitter account:  https://twitter.com/gobergmoser 

For writing advice every weekday, check out my YouTube channel:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVjB-qFoNxNbQq0S3boWxIA?view_as=subscriber  

For free sci-fi & fantasy stories, and to stay updated with my writing projects, join my free newsletter:  https://jedherne.com/club/ 

Twitter: @jedherne

Email: jed.herne1@gmail.com

31 – Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – Using the Relationship Axes to Create Interesting Character Dynamics

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is a gritty YA fantasy heist story. It’s got a racing plot, an interesting setting, and amazing characters. In this episode, I analyse the relationship between Kaz and Inej, using Mary Robinette Kowal’s 6 relationship axes

:Mind – Both people have similar levels of intelligence.

Money – Both people have similar attitudes about money. They don’t both have to have the same amount. This is about what money is for and how it’s handled.

Morals – Similar moral compasses of right and wrong.

Manners – Similar senses of what is polite. So it’s possible to have the same manners and wildly different morals.

Monogamy – Similar attitudes about the relationship. You know that guy that thinks you are BFFs and you think you’re just colleagues?

Marx Brothers – You both find the same things funny. 

  Kaz Inej
Mind Arguably more intelligent, but this often gets in the way of him connecting with people. High IQ, low EQ – apart from when he’s sociopathically manipulating people Not as cunning or clever as Kaz, but with better genuine people skills.
Money “he is a young criminal prodigy, ready to do anything for the right price” – Leigh Bardugo. Wants money for selfish reasons (so he can destroy a gang leader who hurt him) Also wants money, but for unselfish reasons (so she can destroy slavers)
Morals Extremely flexible. Rock solid, mainly because of her religious convictions.
Manners Manipulative; views manners as a tool to use to further his goals. Seems relatively kind; uses manners in an unconsciously kind way, because she’s a kind person.
Monogamy Has feelings for Inej, but puts up walls to protect himself. Also has feelings for Kaz, but won’t commit to anything while he still maintains his walls.
Marx Brothers They both find it funny to upset the privledged, the cruel, the sadistic. In many ways, their mutual hatred of abusive authority figures binds them.

Source:  https://www.patreon.com/posts/writing-stable-8172456 

Show Notes:

Episode 25 – all about Crooked Kingdom, the sequel to this novel:  https://novelanalyst.com/2019/04/30/25-crooked-kingdom-by-leigh-bardugo-the-art-of-setting-descriptions/ 

Check out my youtube channel for writing advice every weekday:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVjB-qFoNxNbQq0S3boWxIA?view_as=subscriber  

Join my exclusive free Reader Club email newsletter to stay up to date with my writing projects:  https://jedherne.com/club/ 

Twitter: @jedherne

Email: jed.herne1@gmail.com

30 – Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card – Writing Twists

After Dale from The Reading Gorilla podcast sent in a listener request, who was I to ignore it? This is an episode about Orson Scott Card’s sci-fi classic, Ender’s Game. Specifically, I examine how he crafted such an amazing twist. Enjoy!

Listen on Apple Podcasts

Listen on Spotify

Listen on Stitcher

Or click here to listen online
And if you want to request an episode, or just have any feedback on the podcast, email me at jed.herne1@gmail.com, or download the free Anchor app to your phone, then search for ‘The Novel Analyst Podcast,’ and click the appropriate buttons to send me a voice message.

Show Notes:

Check out my new youtube channel for writing advice every weekday:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVjB-qFoNxNbQq0S3boWxIA?view_as=subscriber  

Join my exclusive free Reader Club email newsletter to stay up to date with my writing projects:  https://jedherne.com/club/

Twitter: @jedherne

Email: jed.herne1@gmail.com

29 – The Way of Kings – Stormlight Archive book 1 – by Brandon Sanderson – Crafting Epic Fantasy

What does it mean to craft epic fantasy? How is it different that other forms of fantasy? What are it’s unique strengths, and potential pitfalls? All those questions and more answered in today’s episode, which focuses on The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson.
Enjoy!

Listen on Apple Podcasts

Listen on Spotify

Listen on Stitcher

Or click here to listen online

Shownotes:
Check out my new youtube channel for writing advice every weekday: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVjB-qFoNxNbQq0S3boWxIA?view_as=subscriber
Join my exclusive free Reader Club email newsletter to stay up to date with my writing projects: https://jedherne.com/club/
Twitter: @jedherne
Email: jed.herne1@gmail.com