Latest Episode:

54. [Interview] Gabriel Bergmoser talks about The Hunted, adapting his book into a major movie, and how to write gripping stories The Novel Analyst Podcast: Creative Writing Advice & Author Interviews

  1. 54. [Interview] Gabriel Bergmoser talks about The Hunted, adapting his book into a major movie, and how to write gripping stories

54. [Interview] Gabriel Bergmoser talks about The Hunted, adapting his book into a major movie, and how to write gripping stories

Gabriel Bergmoser and I sat down to discuss The Hunted (his latest thriller novel) in depth. This is the third time I’ve interviewed him, and somehow he keeps getting better. The Hunted is my favourite book of his and it was enthralling to dive into the mind of its creator. This episode is available in podcast and video form. Enjoy!   

Podcast:

54. [Interview] Gabriel Bergmoser talks about The Hunted, adapting his book into a major movie, and how to write gripping stories The Novel Analyst Podcast: Creative Writing Advice & Author Interviews

  1. 54. [Interview] Gabriel Bergmoser talks about The Hunted, adapting his book into a major movie, and how to write gripping stories
Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Video (Split into 2 Parts):

Show Notes:

Buy The Hunted here:  https://www.gabrielbergmoser.com/novels.html  

@gobergmoser 

www.gabrielbergmoser.com  

—————————— 

Let me know what you thought on twitter: 

@jedherne  

—————————— 

And if you’d like to try my own books, check out Fires of the Dead – a fast-paced fantasy novella, perfect for fans of The Hunted: https://jedherne.com/firesofthedead/

53. [Interview] Rob J. Hayes – Writing a Fantasy Trilogy, Overcoming Doubts, and The War Eternal

I chat with Rob for the second time to discuss his latest grimdark fantasy trilogy, The War Eternal. The trilogy follows Eska, a young magician struggling to reconcile her urges for revenge with her longing for human connection. The books include:

  1. Along the Razor’s Edge
  2. The Lessons Never Learned
  3. From Cold Ashes Risen

We also talk about overcoming doubts, Rob’s techniques for building captivating fantasy worlds, and which of his characters he’d share isolation with. Enjoy!

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.

Show Notes:

My BookNest review of The Lessons Never Learned: https://bit.ly/jedreviews

Rob’s twitter: @RoboftheHayes

Rob’s facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheHeresyWithin

Rob’s blog: http://www.robjhayes.co.uk/

***

My twitter: @JedHerne

52. [Interview] S. Andrew Swann – Writing The Sword of the Slayer & lessons learned from publishing 26 fantasy and sci-fi books

S. Andrew Swann is the pen name of Steven Swiniarski. He has published over 26 novels since 1993. His recent works include Sword of the Slayer – an interactive fiction story from Choice of Games.

Watch our video interview below, or click the links to listen in your podcast player of your choice.
Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.

Show Notes:

Steven’s website: sandrewswann.com

Twitter: @SAndrewSwann

Facebook: facebook.com/sandrewswann

Sword of the Slayer: choiceofgames.com/sword-of-the-slayer

Steven’s favorite books:

– American Gods

– Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files

– Peter F. Hamilton’s books

– Hyperion

– The Fireman by Joe Hill

51. Red Country by Joe Abercrombie – Concrete and Specific Setting Descriptions

Red Country by Joe Abercrombie is an innovative and captivating work, merging the fantasy and western genres into something new and fresh. A big part of its success are Abercrombie’s vivid and immersive descriptive language. This episode dissects how to write setting descriptions that make readers feel like they’re part of your story’s world. 

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.

Show Notes:

My fantasy book, Across the Broken Stars, is free on Amazon until 01/05/2020! Get it here: https://amzn.to/2Ya3WEf

Previous episodes on Joe Abercrombie’s books:

Episode 50: Before They Are Hanged by Joe Abercrombie – A Simple Way to Craft Compelling Characters 

Episode 7: The Heroes by Joe Abercrombie – Exploring Theme 

Episode 2: The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie – Characterisation through Contradiction

50. Before They Are Hanged by Joe Abercrombie – A Simple Way to Craft Compelling Characters

Use this technique to generate compelling, flawed, three-dimensional characters. 

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify

Or click here to listen online.

Show Notes:

Fires of the Dead – available in audiobook, ebook, & paperback. 

Link to all formats here: jedherne.com/firesofthedead

Link to the audiobook deal: bit.ly/FOTDchirp

Episode 2 – The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie – Characterisation through Contradiction: bit.ly/bladeitselfNA

7 – The Heroes by Joe Abercrombie – Exploring Theme: bit.ly/theheroesNA